Richard Stallman: Unjust computing clamps down

From LinuxReviews
Jump to navigationJump to search
Emblem-videos.svg

Honorary Doctor Richard Stallman elaborated on the growing injustices in computing in a 46 minutes long talk titled Unjust computing clamps down at LibrePlanet 2021 on March 21st, 2021. He also briefly mentioned that he is once again a Free Software Foundation director, and that he won't be stepping down again.

Original story by LibrePlanet 2021 and the Free Software Foundation. Published 2021-03-21, Originally published 2021-03-21.
This work is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike license.


Video Copyright LibrePlanet 2021 / Free Software Foundation. License: Creative Commons Noderivatives License

Richard Stallman elaborates on growing injustices in computing. They are:

  • Locked-down operating systems
  • User-resticting app stores
  • Requiring nonfree client software, including Javascript (Javascript turns the web into something like an app store, but worse)
  • Online dis-services
  • Nvidia's Lubyanka: prisoners of the GPU
  • Proprietary non-interoperable tools as de-facto standards
  • The Internet of Malthings which will only talk with a mobile phone via an online dis-service
  • VR with nonfree platforms to run only nonfree applications
  • Vaccination "passports" could track people in daily life throuh restaurants, theaters, gyms, buses...

Together they reduce your computer to a platform for nonfree malware that will do you a disservice.

"Dr. Richard Stallman launched the free software movement in 1983 and started the development of the GNU operating system (see www.gnu.org) in 1984. GNU is free software: everyone has the freedom to copy it and redistribute it, with or without changes. The GNU/Linux system, basically the GNU operating system with Linux added, is used on tens of millions of computers today. Stallman has received the ACM Grace Hopper Award and the ACM Software and Systems Award, a MacArthur Foundation fellowship, the Electronic Frontier Foundation's Pioneer Award, and the the Takeda Award for Social/Economic Betterment, as well as several doctorates honoris causa, and has been inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame."

The Russians, the Japanese and the Chinese are all aware that Richard Stallman is back in play.

See also

5.00
(6 votes)

avatar

Anonymous user #1

21 days ago
Score 1++
So great that Richard is a FSF director once again!!
avatar

Anonymous user #2

21 days ago
Score 0++
Great! This news made me happy :)
avatar

Anonymous user #3

21 days ago
Score 0++
Take that, SJWs! RMS is back!
avatar

Anonymous user #4

21 days ago
Score 0++
👍
avatar

Anonymous user #5

21 days ago
Score 0++
Awesome announcement, ramen!
avatar

Gigith

20 days ago
Score 0++
Return of the king.
avatar

Anonymous user #6

20 days ago
Score 0++
i'm so glad he's back. he's done so much for free software and the witch hunt they did to him was unjust. the people who attacked him are the vile filth they claimed RMS was.
avatar

JorgePeixoto

20 days ago
Score 0++
Hi. I am new here. I welcome rms back! It is my opinion that, while we made important progress (although definitely not enough) in raising awareness about misogyny, systemic racism and certain other great evils, there have been a few injustices in between. As in many other situations, the answer is in neither pole---we must listen to everyone and make a synthesis. In that spirit, I welcome many of the ethical advances of the last decades, I oppose unenlightened people such as Trump and Bolsonaro and I generally resent those who take pride in being "politically incorrect" (which often means "ignorant bigot"). Yet at the same time, I believe there have been relevant mistakes in this struggle, and Richard Stallman was caught in a "perfect storm" (sorry for the cliché) that caused his flaws to be judged far too harshly as well as being condemned by imaginary flaws. Please see the text I carefully wrote on the subject, based on the ideas of the great Nadine Strossen---the prominent feminist and civil rights activist who was the first female President of the ACLU---and Suzanne Nossel---CEO of PEN America and former executive director of Amnesty International USA---among others: https://gitl...tice-for-rms
avatar

Anonymous user #7

20 days ago
Score 0++

Zealots like RMS are important for setting culture goalposts around discussions of free computing (the Overton window if you will), I find his comments interesting and occasionally amusing.

When news of his communication missteps hit the headlines, I was irrationally annoyed, "why are you stepping into this RMS? You're a computer guy, you don't have the context to wade into the shitstorm of gender relations. Also, you're probably massively autistic." But people are not icons, they are people and will always do silly things that annoy us. So I've resolved to have no opinion about RMS outside of his work on LibreSoftware. Literally do not care if he's a massive weirdo, or president of the white bread and bland society.

Yes, javascript is despotic. Yes nvidia is a gulag. Keep it coming you zealot rockstar!
avatar

Anonymous user #8

16 days ago
Score 0++

I am very happy. He is back. It is good... there must be extremest people in every domain. He is stubborn ... given his life to free software. Love him & free/opensource movement.

[ In that video, I thought guy on right is woman, I was wrong :D ]

Anyway I'm very much happy.
Add your comment
LinuxReviews welcomes all comments. If you do not want to be anonymous, register or log in. It is free.