Ask LinuxReviews

From LinuxReviews
Jump to navigationJump to search

State your Question below. Your question will be answered immediately or eventually.

Please check back after 24 hours for a in-depth research answer to your question.

avatar

Tuxbeast89

14 months ago
Score 1++

Now that you already have reviewed "Endless OS", how about giving Intel's own distro a review? https://clearlinux.org/ It's optimised for new Intel chipsets (requires EFI to install), even modern AMD could benefit from it.

  • I apologise if I've asked multiple times, can't tell if post comment works.
avatar

Rms

13 months ago
Score 0++
Why is it that most programmers write 1000s lines of code and then just 3 cryptic words what use their program is? 90% of github stuff no one ever understood what purpose those projects serve, if any.
avatar

Anonymous user #1

10 months ago
Score 0++
Will 2020 finally drive Microsoft into bancruptcy?
avatar

Intgr

9 months ago
Score 0++
I've recently been improving grammar of LinuxReviews articles. I don't like the TinyMCE editor at all, but I'd still like to read the article seamlessly at the same time as I edit. Is there any chance to get WikiMedia's VisualEditor installed here? I've used it a lot on Wikipedia and it works well. (link: https://www....VisualEditor)
avatar

Oyvinds

9 months ago
Score 1++

The VisualEditor requires a node.js https://gith...edia/parsoid service which only runs on specific node.js versions. VisualEditor requires specific paroid versions and a given VisualEditor version will only work with specific MediaWiki versions, https://www....VisualEditor

VisualEditor will also need https://www....iki/RESTBase setup.

The TinyMCE plugin is absolutely not ideal. We do not use it because it is better than the VisualEditor, it is not. We use that because it requires after dropping the extensions files into extensions/ and then it works, it does not require two node.js versions running very specific versions of other components.

I will try to get VisualEditor to work on a wiki test box again. It is probably doable given enough time to figure out how to set it up and check what combinations of its components versions actually work. On a more general note, I can't say I like MediaWiki at all when it comes to extensions. CirrusSearch (we use that to get a better search feature) documentation is like CirrusSearch vX is required for MediaWiki version Y and it needs Elastica vY but of course that doesn't work, I had to use a specific in-between-releases git snapshot. I don't expect VisualSetup to be easier to setup but I will try.
avatar

Anonymous user #2

5 months ago
Score 0++
What distro should I use? Been bouncing around a bunch but can't really settle on one. I wanted to use Solus but you can't get Xfce in their repos. Was thinking Fedora but just want input.
avatar

Anonymous user #3

3 months ago
Score 0++
Who is your bias in TWICE? I think it's Mina, judging by her pic that you have on the top left corner. I love her too! But I love all of TWICE as well. Can you name some of your favourite songs by them and your favourite comeback era?
avatar

Oyvinds

3 months ago
Score 0++
Mina is very talented and gorgeous but I have a stronger Dahyun bias. I can't find any pictures of her holding a penguin, very sorry. I really like "Cheer Up" and "Candy Pop" though I also very much like many of their newer songs like "Likey", "Yes Or Yes", "Dance The Night Away" and "More & More". I also like many of their lesser known songs like the Christmas special "Merry & Happy". It is very hard to pick a favourite.
avatar

Anonymous user #4

3 months ago
Score 1++
Who is the prettiest APink member and why is it Chorong???
avatar

Oyvinds

3 months ago
Score 0++
I'm not sure it is Chorong, I am more convinced it is Naeun and I think it is because she has a happy yet energetic look and she has a unique personality which shows and she is also very talented as a vocalist and a dancer.
avatar

Anonymous user #3

3 months ago
Score 1++
Who is the best girl in WJSN and why is it Eunseo?
avatar

Anonymous user #3

3 months ago
Score 1++
Would also like to proclaim that Save Me, Save You is their best title track.
avatar

Chaekyung

2 months ago
Score 0++
I think it is Eunseo because she works really hard and she always takes care to be kind to the other members.
avatar

Anonymous user #5

2 months ago
Score 1++

A part of your CSS is effing up the monospace text on non-fontconfig platforms. By using the name "mono" instead of the standard "monospace", my browser is not understanding that code is supposed to be in monospace text and giving me times instead.

Please, grep your site code for 'mono;' and find the responsible part.

@media screen {
#content pre,code {
max-width: 98%;
overflow-x: auto;
font-family: mono;
padding: 0
}
}
avatar

Chaekyung

2 months ago
Score 0++

font-family: mono; is now replaced with font-family: monospace;

You may need to press ctrl-shift-r to refresh the CSS due to Header set Cache-Control "max-age=1814400, public" (3 weeks).
Add your comment
LinuxReviews welcomes all comments. If you do not want to be anonymous, register or log in. It is free.