Microsoft Edge Is Coming To Linux In October 2020

From LinuxReviews
Jump to navigationJump to search
Edge-logo.png

..but it will, initially, only be available to members of some secret club called the "Microsoft Edge Insider community". Microsoft did not reveal when it will become available to the general public, only that "insiders" will be able to choose between a "Beta", "Dev" and a "Canary" channel.

written by 권유리 (Kwon Yu-ri). published 2020-09-23last edited 2020-09-24

Microsoft botnet browser for linux download page.jpg
Microsoft Edge for Linux download page with a "coming soon" promise on September 23rd, 2020

American software giant Microsoft promised to make Edge available for Linux in November 2019. We complained that Microsoft appeared to have forgotten about that promise a month ago. It seems we were wrong. Microsoft very briefly mentioned that Microsoft Edge for Linux will, in fact, become a reality in a long blog post about mostly other topics posted on their blogs.windows.com site yesterday.

Microsoft marketing blog story regarding the availability of Microsoft Edge for Linux is:

"Starting in October, Microsoft Edge on Linux will be available to download on the Dev preview channel. When it’s available, Linux users can go to the Microsoft Edge Insiders site to download the preview channel, or they can download it from the native Linux package manager."

"Windows Experience Blog", September 22nd, 2020

Microsoft has set up download links with "Coming soon for Linux" at microsoftedgeinsider.com/en-us/download?platform=linux. There is nothing to download on that page right now, but there will apparently be something Linux users can download, install and use on that page "starting in October". Linux users who want to use a proprietary web browser for some reason can always get the superior South Korean NAVER whale browser while we wait and see if Microsoft actually delivers something usable. NAVER whale is, like Microsoft Edge, based on the Chromium web browser code.

5.00
(one vote)

avatar

Anonymous user #1

26 days ago
Score 1++

My sister loves the epub support along with TTS in Edge, now called Legacy Edge. They dropped epub support in the Chromium version, yet it has the TTS. Since it relies on the TTS built into Windows, wonder if that'll make it to Linux.

Anyway, I was hoping for a Linux port since it would've been one last thing she misses from Windows coming to Linux, but I doubt the features will make it anyway.
avatar

Anonymous user #2

26 days ago
Score 0++
sudo apt go-fuck-yourself-microsoft
avatar

Anonymous user #3

one day 4 hours 13 minutes ago
Score 0++
Idiot.
Add your comment
LinuxReviews welcomes all comments. If you do not want to be anonymous, register or log in. It is free.