Manjaro Lomiri Alpha1 for PinePhone Is Released

From LinuxReviews
Jump to navigationJump to search
Smartphone.svg

Two thirds of all web traffic comes from smartphones. Traditional desktop, laptops or notebook computers are dying. The free software community wants a piece of the pie. Manjaro Linux has ported the Lomiri desktop, formally known as "Ubuntu Touch", to Manjaro for Arm and released a complete Manjaro Lomiri distribution for the Arm-based PinePhone. It's hard to read the release notes without breaking into wild laughter.

written by 林慧 (Wai Lin). published 2020-09-19last edited 2020-09-19

Yuri-yoona-laughing.jpg
Yuri and Yoona from SNSD.

The Manjaro Linux developers have clearly done a lot of hard work porting the Lomiri desktop environment to Manjaro Linux for Arm. And it is quite nice that they have made installable images for the PinePhone available. One should probably not laugh wildly at these hard efforts. But it's so incredibly hard not to and there's way:

"Currently broken:

  • Calls are highly unstable
  • Messaging might not work properly
  • No vibartion functions yet
  • No camera function yet"

So. It's shiny new software for a phone. Which.. can't be used to make phone-calls or send messages if you install said software. And you can't use it as a camera.

The Lomiri desktop the Manjaro Arm smartphone OS features is the "Ubuntu Mobile" environment that's been around since 2010. It was re-named Lomiri in February 2020 after "Ubuntu Mobile" had been left for dead after Ubuntu abandoned in favour of using GNOME on Ubuntu's mobile editions in 2017.

You can get the new Manjaro ARM for PinePhone from osdn.net/projects/manjaro-arm/storage/pinephone/lomiri/alpha1/ if you have a PinePhone and you want to install it for some reason. You can also buy a severely "Limited Edition" PinePhone with Manjaro Arm pre-installed for just $150 at store.pine64.org. They won't send it until "November 2020", so there is a small hope that you will either be able to use it to make calls or use it to send messages by the time it arrives early next year if you order one today.

It is great that they've made a ARM version of Manjaro Linux for the PinePhone, and a few developers may be interested in it. Too bad that the actually tangible end-user consumer product is nothing but a huge joke of a smartphone that can't even be used make phone calls.

5.00
(2 votes)

avatar

Anonymous user #1

one month ago
Score 1++
Is the tag "alfa one" rings a bell? Any alfa OS is highly unstable and barely usable so I see no reason here for a wild laughter. Cheer up for the guys from the Manjaro project and their efforts! Hope that many more ethousisast will buy the pine phone cause 10 buks from each sell are going to support Manjaro!
avatar

Anonymous user #2

one month ago
Score 0++

Wai Lin wrote: "Manjaro Linux has ported the Lomiri desktop, formally known as 'Ubuntu Touch'"

Actually, no, this wrong in multiple ways. Lomiri was formally known as the "Unity8" desktop. "Ubuntu Touch" is a distribution that is being developed and maintained by the UBports team. In addition to the broader "Ubuntu Touch" project, UBports is developing the Lomiri desktop for use with many other distributions. The UBports team and the Manjaro ARM team are working TOGETHER to bring Lomiri to Manjaro ARM.

Regarding the issues that you find laughable, as noted by another, this is an early ALPHA release. So far, the teams on focusing on other aspects. The issues that you find laughable will be overcome well before the final release.
avatar

WaiLin

one month ago
Score 1++

Well excuse me for not being a unity scientist.

But you're right, of course, I should probably look closer at Lomiri and write a page with a small history section some day. But you know a review from the perspective of "Would my old mother be happy with this product" wouldn't turn out looking all that great.

I love the idea of the PinePhone. It's just that every time I see a toot about it it's always something like "I've installed this new OS on it and it's great, except audio doesn't work."
avatar

Gigith

22 days ago
Score 0++

Anybody remember this? https://www....buntu-edge#/ I "bought" one. If only this was the timeline where they got made. I'm not a big Ubuntu fan, I sure like them more than Google & Apple.

WaiLin might be a little more critical than you want, but I think the point is that even an alpha should nail making phone calls and text messaging before it's even sold, IMO.

Because people might be okay with alpha testing and working on a phone that might be a little glitchy overall, but if it flat out doesn't even do phone stuff...
avatar

Anonymous user #2

one month ago
Score 0++

Wai Lin wrote: "But you know a review from the perspective of 'Would my old mother be happy with this product' wouldn't turn out looking all that great."

I AGREE that the PinePhone (regardless of the OS used on it) is NOT yet ready for use by the average user. But at for now, the PinePhone isn't being marketed for use by the average user. Rather, at present, the current target audience includes tech enthusiasts who want to be at the forefront of phones that run traditional Linux.

The above in mind, development is happening very rapidly. Indeed, I predict that, within about one year (maybe sooner, maybe a little later), the PinePhone will be a viable choice for many (but still not all) average users. And by then, it may even a viable choice for your mother. :)
avatar

Anonymous user #3

27 days ago
Score -1++
what a baddly written article, subjectivity applied to a changelog... a shame it rank so high on search engine.
avatar

Anonymous user #4

5 days ago
Score 0++

Actually I think that the Alpha 1 of Lomiri is not the software that the device will be installed with. According to the Pine64 website:

"The OS image ships with Phosh and is probably the smoothest experience on the PinePhone to date. Moreover, to my knowledge – and I’ve tested the software extensively – all major features of the phone work with Manjaro."

The software that is going to be shipped with the Pinephone is the Alpha 4 of Phosh environment. This is much better than the Alpha 1 Lomiri as all major features work. Again, this is still in in alpha so it is still mostly going to be for linux enthusiests and the like at this state. I downloaded and installed it on my Pinephone I got a few months ago and it and it is definately much better experience as I have some subscribed podcasts on the included podcast app. The Alpha 4 released on 10/05/2020 is the most recent. according to the Manjaro website he list of features includes:

Features: -Firefox uses a dedicated configuration and plays videos on Youtube pretty well -Camera app with access to back and front camera -Auto-Rotate function (deactivated by default) -Welcome wizard for easy setup of the device -Comes with a flashlight application -Prime phone functions working, including resume from deep-sleep and free speaking -Recording of audio works -Most applications got added to scale-to-fit -Haptic feedback functions are given -Optimized keyboard layout for terminal -Maps with working GPS -Volume buttons working -Sensors fully functional -Easy access to Bluetooth, Wlan, Rotate and Mobile functions via quick settings -Default branch is arm-unstable. This can be changed by editing /etc/pacman-mirrors.conf -This image uses a Crust enabled uboot

Alpha4 (2020-09-20)

Alpha4 (2020-10-02) -fix issues with country codes on internal service numbers -update megapixels and gnome packages

Alpha4 (2020-10-03) Download 4 -update megapixels to save JPEG files

Alpha4 (2020-10-04) Download 68 -update megapixels to have autofocus -update linux-pinephone to support autofocus -add more applications -fix several applications to be more adaptive -fixed scrolling issue of open apps in phosh -anbox should now scale properly


Please go to he links below and read what the Alpha 4 Phosh includes.


https://foru...ephone/26727

https://www....ktober-gear/
avatar

Anonymous user #4

5 days ago
Score 0++

Actually I think that the Alpha 1 of Lomiri is not the software that the device will be installed with. According to the Pine64 website:

"The OS image ships with Phosh and is probably the smoothest experience on the PinePhone to date. Moreover, to my knowledge – and I’ve tested the software extensively – all major features of the phone work with Manjaro."

The software that is going to be shipped with the Pinephone is the Alpha 4 of Phosh environment. This is much better than the Alpha 1 Lomiri as all major features work. Again, this is still in in alpha so it is still mostly going to be for linux enthusiests and the like at this state. I downloaded and installed it on my Pinephone I got a few months ago and it and it is definately much better experience as I have some subscribed podcasts on the included podcast app. The Alpha 4 released on 10/05/2020 is the most recent. according to the Manjaro website he list of features includes:

Features: -Firefox uses a dedicated configuration and plays videos on Youtube pretty well -Camera app with access to back and front camera -Auto-Rotate function (deactivated by default) -Welcome wizard for easy setup of the device -Comes with a flashlight application -Prime phone functions working, including resume from deep-sleep and free speaking -Recording of audio works -Most applications got added to scale-to-fit -Haptic feedback functions are given -Optimized keyboard layout for terminal -Maps with working GPS -Volume buttons working -Sensors fully functional -Easy access to Bluetooth, Wlan, Rotate and Mobile functions via quick settings -Default branch is arm-unstable. This can be changed by editing /etc/pacman-mirrors.conf -This image uses a Crust enabled uboot

Alpha4 (2020-09-20)

Alpha4 (2020-10-02) -fix issues with country codes on internal service numbers -update megapixels and gnome packages

Alpha4 (2020-10-03) Download 4 -update megapixels to save JPEG files

Alpha4 (2020-10-04) Download 68 -update megapixels to have autofocus -update linux-pinephone to support autofocus -add more applications -fix several applications to be more adaptive -fixed scrolling issue of open apps in phosh -anbox should now scale properly


Please go to he links below and read what the Alpha 4 Phosh includes.


https://foru...ephone/26727

https://www....ktober-gear/
Add your comment
LinuxReviews welcomes all comments. If you do not want to be anonymous, register or log in. It is free.